Breaking News

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez Appoints 15 Members to Maritime Advisory Committee

February 4, 2014

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez has appointed 15 members and a special agency liaison to the Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health.

MACOSH advises the secretary of labor, through the assistant secretary of labor for occupational safety and health, on various issues related to safe and healthful working conditions in the maritime industry, including safety and health standards, injury and illness prevention, training and outreach initiatives, and enforcement initiatives to improve the safety and health of maritime workers.

The secretary has selected the following members, who have experience in worker safety and health in the maritime industry.

Four members represent management:
Karen Conrad, North Pacific Fishing Vessel Owners’ Association, Seattle, Wash.
Kelly Garber, APL Ltd., Seattle, Wash.
Donald Raffo, General Dynamics Corp., Stonington, Conn.
Arthur T. Ross, Texas Terminals L.P., Houston, Texas
Four members represent labor:
Lesley E. Johnson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Pascagoula, Miss.
George S. Lynch Jr., International Longshoremen’s Association, New York, N.Y.
Robert Godinez, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers – Iron Ship Builders
Timothy J. Podue, International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Long Beach, Calif.
Three members represent safety and health professions:
Daniel R. Harrison, American Society of Safety Engineers, Des Plaines, Ill.
Amy Sly, Marine Chemist Association, Stonington, Conn.
James R. Thornton, American Industrial Hygiene Association, Newport News, Va.
Three members represent government:
Christopher John McMahon, U.S. Department of Transportation, Maritime Administration, Washington, D.C.
James A. Rone, Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, Olympia, Wash.
Kenneth A. Smith, U.S. Department of Transportation, Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.
One member was appointed by the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services:
LCDR John F. Halpin, MD, MPH, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health, Washington, D.C.